Olney Town Center Advisory Committee

PO Box 1164, Olney, MD 20830

Members




Olney Town Center Advisory Committee Selects Joe Buffington, Jr. to Fill A Newly Created Seat to Represent Small Business Property Owners in the Town Center

(Posted 4/27/08)

At it's April 22nd meeting, the Olney Town Center Advisory Committee (OTCAC)selected Joe Buffington as its newest member. Mr. Buffington fills the seat recently designated for a small business property owner in the town center. Since the small business property owners do not have a specific organization, per se, to represent their interests the new committee member has been asked to develop a plan in the next 3-6 months to get input and feedback from other small business property owners in the town center.






As a part of approving the 2005 Olney Master Plan, the Montgomery County Council directed the Maryland National Park & Planning Commission (M-NCPPC) to establish a Olney Town Center Advisory Committee to refine the guidance in the Master Plan by creating a community-supported town center concept that will serve as a guide to future developers. Download a fact sheet on the committe here. The Park and Planning staff solicited volunteers to serve on this Committee. Their goal was to create a well-balanced committee that represented a broad cross-section of the community and all interested-parties, but was still a manageable size. On May 4, 2006, the M-NCPPC Planning Board approved the membership of this Advisory Committee.

Current Advisory Committee Members
(as of April 2008)

Name Representation Email
Bob Beard Greater Olney Civic Association bob.beard
@olneytowncenter.org
Joe Buffington, Jr. Small Property Owner joe.buffingtn
@olneytowncenter.org
Eileen Cahill Mid-County Citizen Advisory Board eileen.cahill
@olneytowncenter.org
Nancy DeLalio, Secretary Hallowell Homeowners Association nancy.delalio
@olneytowncenter.org
Mark Feinroth Williamsburg Village Civic Association mark.feinroth
@olneytowncenter.org
Joe Fritsch Mid-County Recreation Advisory Board joe.fritsch
@olneytowncenter.org
Paula Kahla Olney Chamber of Commerce paula.kahla
@olneytowncenter.org
Dorothy Kane PROJECT CHANGE dorothy.kane
@olneytowncenter.org
Walter Lee Environ Homeowners Association walter.lee
@olneytowncenter.org
Mike Reilly Carl M. Freeman Companies mike.reilly
@olneytowncenter.org
Helene Rosenheim, Vice-Chair Mid-County Services Center helene.rosenheim
@olneytowncenter.org
Jim Smith, Chair Oatland Farms Homeowners Association james.smith
@olneytowncenter.org

`The Committee established a process within its Rules and Procedures adopted June 5, 2006 for filling vacancies as they occur. To date the following members have left the Committe: (1) Dan Dionisio, May 2006; (2)Jim Wallace, April 2007; (3) Tom Gallagher, October 2007; (4) Gina Angiola, February 2008

back to the top

Other Contributors

Name Affiliation Role Email
Khalid Afzal Maryland-National Capital Park & Planning Commission Olney Community Planner khalid.afzal
@mncppc-mc.org
Dr. Joe Buffington Property owner in Olney Member, OTCAC Outreach Subcommittee drjoebuff
@comcast.net
Bill Caldwell formerly with RTKL Associates, Inc. Consultant
Laura Rydland RTKL Associates, Inc. Consultant lrydland
@rtkl.com

back to the top

©2006 Olney Town Center Advisory Committee    info@olneytowncenter.org

Last updated April 27, 2008